hit counter

The Churchill Factor: How One Man Made History


‘The must-read biography of the year.’ Evening Standard

He writes with gusto… the result is a book that is never boring, genuinely clever … this book sizzles.’ The Times

‘The point of the Churchill Factor is that one man can make all the difference.’

Written in conjunction with the Churchill Estate, Boris Johnson explores what makes up the ‘Churchill Factor’ – the singular brilliance of one of the most important leaders of the twentieth century. Taking on the myths and misconceptions along…

No Banners, No Bugles



The little-known WWII story of the salvage engineers whose daring and heroism helped the Allies win back North Africa, by the author of The Far Shore.

By the time America joined World War II, Edward Ellsberg had already earned his place as one of the world’s great marine salvage engineers, and his bestselling accounts of raising doomed submarines and histories of classic diving operations had made him a literary star. With America’s entry into the war, Ellsberg returned to active duty…

The Zookeeper’s Wife: An unforgettable true story, now a major film


In war-torn Warsaw, a zookeeper and his wife refuse to surrender…

Now a major motion picture starring Jessica Chastain and Daniel Brühl, Diane Ackerman’s The Zookeeper’s Wife is based on a remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II. Perfect for fans of Lion and Hidden Figures.

‘I can’t imagine a better story or storyteller. The Zookeeper’s Wife will touch every nerve you have’ -Jonathan Safran Foer, author of Everything is Illuminated

When Germany invades Poland,…

Edexcel AS/A Level History, Paper 1&2: Communist states in the 20th century…



Exam Board: Edexcel Level: A level Subject: History First teaching: September 2015 First exams: June 2017 This book: * covers the essential content in the new specifications in a rigorous and engaging way, using detailed narrative, sources, timelines, key words, helpful activities and extension material * helps develop conceptual understanding of areas such as evidence, interpretations, causation and change, through targeted activities * provides assessment support for both AS and A level…

Edexcel AS/A Level History, Paper 1&2: Revolutions in early modern and mode…



Exam Board: Edexcel Level: A level Subject: History First teaching: September 2015 First exams: June 2017 This book: * covers the essential content in the new specifications in a rigorous and engaging way, using detailed narrative, sources, timelines, key words, helpful activities and extension material * helps develop conceptual understanding of areas such as evidence, interpretations, causation and change, through targeted activities * provides assessment support for both AS and A level…

The Duchess: The Untold Story – the explosive biography, as seen in the Dai…


THE #2 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

‘The last untold account of the biggest crisis to hit the royals since the abdication … Explosive biography by Britain’s top royal author … A gripping story of human frailty, love, loss, sadness, and tragedy’ Daily Mail

The relationship between Charles, Prince of Wales and Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall, is one of the most remarkable love stories of the age. It has endured against all the odds, and in the process nearly destroyed the British monarchy. It…

Leviathan: The Rise of Britain as a World Power


For viewers of BBC One’s ‘Britain and the Sea’, ‘Leviathan’ is a must-read; overturning long-held beliefs about our ancestry and weaving together the disparate strands that made the fabric of the Empire.

The 350 years between the accession of the Tudors and the beginning of the Victorian era saw one of the great transformations of any nation in history: Britain emerged from its lowly position as European underdog to become the world’s only maritime superpower. It was a period that saw…

Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert [Kindle in Motion]


A #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller.

From New York Times bestselling author Patricia Cornwell comes Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert, a comprehensive and intriguing exposé of one of the world’s most chilling cases of serial murder—and the police force that failed to solve it.

Vain and charismatic Walter Sickert made a name for himself as a painter in Victorian London. But the ghoulish nature of his art—as well as extensive evidence—points to another name, one that’s left…